Home      |     Contact Us      |     Users Site SEARCH:       


Staff Profile: Liping Xue

Liping Xue, Flow Science Developer
Liping Xue, Flow Science Developer

Title: Developer

Education:  Ph.D., Materials Engineering, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
B.S., Metal Forming, University of Science and Technology Beijing

How long have you worked for Flow Science?

A little over one year.

What is the best part of your job?

The opportunity to develop and implement new models.

What is the most interesting project you are working on right now?

The core gas model. At first I thought it was just a little enhancement and did not involve much work. But as I dig deeper and deeper, I find there are always new things to be considered for the model to work better. But with all the new features and capabilities, the model becomes more accurate, robust, and flexible. I hope customers will like it.

What was it about Flow Science that attracted you?

Small company, nice people, friendly working environment, and good benefits.

What technology currently excites you the most?

Google Glass. I cannot wait to throw away my current pair of glasses.

What do you do in your spare time (when you’re not at Flow Science)?

Play with my kids, especially the little one. I also like reading and watching movies.

What is on your reading list? Do you have a recent favorite?

My son is a bookworm. He usually borrows a lot of books from the library. I just randomly pick one from his pile of books and start reading. My recent favorite is Heaven is for Real.

Where did you grow up and what do you miss most about it?

I grew up in the rural area in Jining City, Shandong Province, China. When I was little, we were very poor. Not only my family, but the whole country was poor at that time. But I was just a little kid, so all I remember is playing in the dirt with my friends, and not worrying about a thing. My favorite time was the Chinese New Year. I dressed in new clothes, ate the best food, and received gifts from parents and relatives. As soon as the festival was over, I began to count the days until the next one. That seems like it was just yesterday. What I miss most about it? Friends and family. And food, of course.

What is your favorite city in the United States and why?

San Francisco. Clean city, nice weather, and culture tolerance.

If you could travel anywhere, where would you go?

Gosh, there are so many places I want to go! Alaska, Hawaii, cruise to the Caribbean, Yellowstone, Europe, to name a few. But China will always be on top of my list.

What are your important accomplishments?

Got married, finished my Ph.D., and had my son and daughter. Waiting for my grandchildren to come :) …

Who has had the greatest influence on you and why?

My mother. Like in all traditional Chines families, my father was an educator and discipliner, and seemed to be always strict with us. My mother was a protector and was always kind. Although my mother only finished elementary school, which was very uncommon considering most of the girls did not even have a chance to go to school at that time, she knew the importance of education, and did everything she could to provide us with the best. I love her and am always in debt to her. 

What helps you get out of bed each morning?

My cell phone’s alarm wakes me up in the morning. The importance of each day drives me out of bed.

^ back to top